A Reader’s Contribution 1: The Shadow

Recently I have come to meet a reader of mine who calls himself The Shadow. The Shadow commented on my blog post titled The Idiocy of Self-Consciousness and gave me a dilemma to answer. I will show you the dilemma and I hope you will give it some thought. I will also post my answer  but do not look to see what I though immediately after. Give it 5 mins of thought and then peer on.
Again thanks to The Shadow for your contribution.
And without any further delay:
That’s the trouble with children – they’re so predictable.
Consider the idea that you’re put in a blank space (which you could interpret to mean as a generic empty environment), absent of all life and you can be sustained for the course of a natural life. When you first arrive, you are left with the directive that there is a problem and a solution that exists in this space. You must solve the problem by the end of life. What do you do?
Do you fill your life trying to solve the problem (and risk being unable to find or solve it)? Do you try, fail (without knowing you have failed) and give up, to spare yourself the ambiguity of failure? Do you not try at all, hoping that the only true solution is to simple be?

-Do not Peek

My Answer(Directly from the comment):
For my answer with your situation about an empty environment without life, I would approach it in two ways. First does the problem have an answer that I seek. The grandness of the issue. What does it deal with? If my sole purpose now was to solve the problem and the problem is not fulfilling then I would simply kill myself. If it is grand, arduous, and a field of study where I can find growth, then by all means I would try to solve it. There also comes the question if I would actually accept the truth behind the solution. I do not know of course, but it is not a stretch to say that I could go mad and lose my mind after solving the problem and so I fear to solve it in the first place. It is a dilemma of which sanity and insanity loses division and become one and the same. To be sane in such an environment is insane. So can the problem be solved and the truth be separated from it? Am I searching for a truth or is the solution my inevitable psychological implosion? And even if I grow from my experience what is the point to the problem if after solving it there is not point or space or growth afterwords. Perhaps killing myself would be the best answer.

2 thoughts on “A Reader’s Contribution 1: The Shadow

  1. theShadow says:

    I like your analysis of the problem.
    Yes, the problem can be solved and the truth can be separated from it. It is a case in which the only true solution is to find out the truth, where, like in maths, a false step can result in the wrong conception of what is a solution.
    I suspect that killing oneself would be less satisfying or bearing of less potential than the search which descends into insanity (for one cannot solve this problem if one is not living). Does the idea of stagnation haunt you enough to kill yourself? Do you believe that growth cannot come from within?

    Like

    • Stagnation and Mediocrity are two things that I drives me to accomplish things. If they were inevitably prolonged than yes I would kill myself. I do not think that killing one’s self is a bad thing. Growth always comes from within whether it be through external or internal means.
      My point was that insanity would be inevitable if the solution towards the problem was not worth while.

      Like

Leave a Reply

