Insight into Happiness

Today I ask the question of happiness. What kind of happiness do I want? Is it just to be happy? What is Happiness?
At my current state, I highly value intelligence and different ways of thinking. Learning is my mistress. Although I felt joy on a number of occasions, it was more of a darker perspective. Now with happiness I have a number of obstacles I need to overcome. One, the word itself boggles me. For some strange reason I could not reason what it meant to be happy. Of course, one can use synonyms to help better understand the word– such as joyful, euphoria, etc. But those are all words that lead to the same general feeling. So I asked is it good to be happy? Two, if I were to choose to be happy, I feel uncomfortable with the idea for I feel like I will have to give up some intellectual ground. Can there be an intellectual that has the same analytical and philosophical mind while being in a state of general happiness? I asked myself these questions.
So, I must define the basis of my curiosity. What does it mean to be an intellectual? An intellectual is one that has a general curiosity in life and seeks answers to those questions. An intellectual is observant and yearns to learn and supplement themselves with knowledge and wisdom. It is the body of knowledge that one holds that makes one an intellectual but the heart or the strive behind the wisdoms that were acquired.

So what does critical thinking do in comparison to happiness? Can an intellectual be happy? So to analyze, one deconstructs. The very act of analyzing may be an obstacle to happiness. One can approach analyzing with a level of excitement but an approach with happiness seems to be a bit of a far stretch. Even the knowledge that one gains from the deconstruction will not make one happy. For one analyzes, not to be happy, but to learn. So since the purpose of the analysis is not for happiness but to gain a higher understanding, happiness cannot be expected from such an act. Where does this wisdom lead us?

Does the intellectual strive to be happy? I would think so, but the traits that define them restrict them from doing so. Does this lead to the question of whether one has to choose to be happy over their intellectual facets? Can one strive for intellectual cognition and be happy at the same time? So what makes one happy?

I believe there are two ways to approach happiness. The first being the happiness that is general throughout humanity. Being good person, recognition of being a good person, love, being loved. The second is idiosyncratic happiness. This is the happiness that comes from the specifics of our soul. The tailored events that makes one happy. High levels of joy can be achieved from both types for this is not a separation between happiness but a discourse that derives from a centerpiece.
So can the intellectual be happy?

5 thoughts on “Insight into Happiness

  1. theShadow says:

    Does the intellectual need to be happy? If intellectualism is its own reward, then the intellectual need not search for happiness.

    One might consider the humanity of the individual, since, for some, intellectualism does not encompass all of life.

    Like

    • Is it wise to separate being intellectual with being happy?
      Love your answer but it would be helpful for you to explore why there is such a difference. why good is even good and bad is even bad. And you bring a good point about needs. Is a need ever a need if life is unnecessary?

      Like

  2. M says:

    Albert Einstein. Put your drive to feel intelligence aside or confront the reason why you feel insecure about it in the first place aside.

    Best,
    M

    Like

Leave a Reply

